Grief – Dealing with grief

At some point in our lives, each of us will have to deal with losing someone or something dear to us. The grief that follows such a loss can be excruciating, but grief is actually a healing process. Grief is an emotional suffering that we all feel when we have lost something.

The loss of a loved one, the loss of a body and extreme disappointment can cause grief. Sometimes people get stuck in one of the first four stages of grief. Their life can be very painful before they reach the fifth stage: acceptance.

Book online now


1. Isolation and denial

At first, you try to pretend the loss hasn’t happened and may withdraw from your usual social networks. Being in this stage can last from a moment to a longer period of time.

The grieving person may be angry at the person who caused the pain (even if they are dead) or anger may be directed at the world for allowing it to happen. They may be angry at themselves for allowing it to happen in the first place, even though there was nothing they could realistically do to stop it.

The grieving person may want to bargain with God and ask “if I do this, will you give me back what I lost?”

4. Depression
Feeling numb, even though anger and sadness are unprocessed in the subconscious.

5. Acceptance
This happens when the anger, sadness or grief has subsided. The person accepts that the loss is a reality.


During grief, it is common to have many conflicting emotions. Sadness, anger, loneliness, shame, anxiety and guilt, which often accompany serious losses. Having so many strong emotions can be very stressful.

If you don’t accept the feelings you have and don’t process them through the five stages of grief, it will be much harder on your body and mind than going through the five stages. If someone tells you “you just need to look on the bright side”, it can make the grieving person feel pressured to hide or deny these feelings. As a result, it will take much longer to process the grief.

*Hypnosis can help you work through the five stages of grief effectively and thoroughly at your own pace.


Grief and the stress that comes with it can disappear quickly with good self-care habits. It helps to have good friends and family. It also helps to eat healthy and not drink too much alcohol, exercise and relax.

Most people are not prepared for grief as it happens suddenly without warning. If you have good self-care habits, it helps when dealing with the pain and shock of loss until you come to acceptance.

If you want help processing your grief, you are welcome to contact us by email or phone 31 65 84 33

*We emphasize that hypnosis and treatments do not guarantee recovery from hypnosis and that results may vary from person to person.

What is grief?

Grief is an emotional reaction to losing someone or something. During a period of grief, the body and mind work to understand that something has been lost, often resulting in an unhappy state. The reaction is very complex with the combination of emotional, social and physiological symptoms.

How do you process grief?

In order to process grief, it’s important to give your emotions space throughout the different stages. Trying to deny or hide the many emotions involved will only make the grieving process longer. Many people also have good experiences with professional help, as it allows them to delve deeper into their psychological reactions.

What does grief feel like?

There are different degrees of grief and there is therefore not just one way to experience it. Typical emotions during grief include anger, shame, loneliness, anxiety and guilt. In addition, these emotions are often combined and conflicting.

Does hypnosis work for grief?

The results of hypnosis for grief vary from person to person, so it cannot be guaranteed that hypnosis works for everyone. Some people experience a marked improvement as hypnosis can help them through the stages and process of grief.

Write to us

31 65 84 33